NIGHTINGALE INTERNATIONAL FLORENCE FOUNDATION.

NATIONAL AND INTERNATIONAL PROGRESS.

Since the inauguration of the Florence Nightingale International Foundation on July 5th, 1934, the work has steadily progressed and the organisation and work of the various Committees are being co-ordinated. The following list of Committees will, we feel sure, be of use to those interested in the scheme.

COMMITTEES.

1. FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MEMORIAL COMMITTEE, I.C.N.

Founded at Cologne, 1912. Chairman: Mrs. Bedford

Composed of the Presidents of Member Associations of the International Council of Nurses who accept office, and a few original members.

NIGHTINGALE INTERNATIONAL FOUNDATION. 2. FLORENCE

Composed of :-

5 delegates elected by the International Council of Nurses. 5 delegates elected by the League of Red Cross Societies.

2 delegates elected by each National Committee of National Associations of Nurses federated in the International Council of Nurses, and National Red Cross

The International Council of Nurses. Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, Great Britain. Dame Alicia Lloyd Still, Great Britain. Miss Jean Gunn, Canada. Miss Effie Taylor, U.S.A. Sister Bergljot Larsson, Norway.

League of Red Cross Societies. Mlle. Lucie Odier, Switzerland. Marchesa di Targiani Giunti, Italy. Dr. Alice Masarykova, Czechoslovakia Mr. Ernest J. Swift, Secretary-General, L.O.R.C.S.

Mrs. Cecil Carter, Chief, Division of Nursing, L.O.R.C.S.

THE COMMITTEE OF MANAGEMENT.

Chairman: Dame Alicia Lloyd Still. Hon. Treasurer: The Hon. Sir Arthur Stanley.

The following personnel forms the Committee of Management—appointed by the Grand Council.

The International Council of Nurses:
Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, Mlle. Chaptal, Sister Bergljot Larsson.

The League of Red Cross Societies:
Mrs. Cecil Carter, Mlle. Lucie Odier, Mr. Ernest Swift. National Council of Nurses of Great Britain:

Miss M. S. Cochrane and Miss E. M. Musson.

The British Red Cross Society:

Lieut.-General Sir Harold Fawcus and Dame Sarah Swift.

Bedford College:

Miss G. E. M. Jebb, Cantab., Principal, Bedford College for Women,

College of Nursing:
Miss R. Cox-Davies, President. Old Internationals' Association:

Mlle. Cecile Mechelynck.

The Committee of Management met on October 5th, at St. Thomas's Hospital. The following sub-committees were appointed:-

Education Committee.

Dame Alicia Lloyd Still (Chairman), Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, Mrs. Carter, Miss M. S. Cochrane, Mlle. Chaptal,

Miss Cox-Davies, Miss Jebb, Miss Larsson, Mlle. Mechelynck, Sir Arthur Stanley (ex officio), Mrs. Reid, M.A. (Cantab.), and Miss Annie Goodrich, Sc.D., M.A., late Dean, School of Nursing, Yale University, to serve as co-opted members.

Ways and Means Committee.

Lieut.-General Sir Harold Fawcus (Chairman), Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, Miss E. M. Musson, Mr. Ernest Swift, President and Hon. Treasurer (ex officio).

House Committee.

Dame Sarah Swift (Chairman), Miss M. S. Cochrane, Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, Miss Jebb, Dame Maud McCarthy and Miss Leggatt, to serve as co-opted members.

President and Hon. Treasurer—ex officio.

On August 1st last an office was opened at 15, Manchester Square, London, as the Headquarters of the Foundationthe League of Red Cross Societies having donated the lease of the House and equipment. The Committee of Management have officially named Headquarters—Florence Nightingale International House—where communications should be addressed to Miss Olive Baggallay, S.R.N., the Secretary.

The Grand Council of The International Foundation, which was inaugurated on July 5th, 1934, will meet in London early in July, 1935. Meanwhile its Executive Authority, the Committee of Management, is responsible for the organisation of the work.

THE NATIONAL FLORENCE NIGHTINGALE MEMORIAL COMMITTEE OF GREAT BRITAIN.

Composed of representative members of the Nursing Profession, and members of the public.

President: Her Grace The Duchess of Devonshire, Hon. LL.D., J.P.

Chairman: The Hon. Sir Arthur Stanley, G.B.E., C.B., M.V.O.

Vice-Presidents: H.R.H. Princess Alice, Countess of Athlone, Dowager Countess of Airlie, G.B.E., J.P., Mary Countess of Minto, C.I.; Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, S.R.N.; Dame Alicia Lloyd Still, D.B.E., R.R.C., S.R.N., Dame Sarah Swift, G.B.E., R.R.C.

The Committee appoints two members to serve as delegates on the Grand Council of the Foundation. These

The Hon. Sir Arthur Stanley, G.B.E., C.B., M.V.O. Miss E. M. Musson, C.B.E., R.R.C., LL.D., S.R.N.

The Committee also appoints ten members to form the Executive Committee:-

5 nominated by The National Council of Nurses of Great Britain.

5 nominated by The British Red Cross Society.

Members of Executive Committee.

The National Council of Nurses of Great Britain: Mrs. Bedford Fenwick, S.R.N. Dame Anne Beadsmore Smith, D.B.E., R.R.C., S.R.N. Dame Alicia Lloyd Still, D.B.E., R.R.C., S.R.N. Miss E. M. Musson, C.B.E., R.R.C., LL.D., S.R.N. Miss Helen Dey, R.R.C., S.R.N.

The British Red Cross Society Mary Countess of Minto, C.I. Dame Sarah Swift, G.B.E., R.R.C. The Hon. Sir Arthur Stanley, G.B.E., C.B., M.V.O. Lt.-General Sir Harold Fawcus, K.C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O. Mrs. E. MacGregor Rome, R.R.C., S.R.N.

This Committee has met several times during the Autumn. It has appointed Mrs. D. S. Woodhall, as part-time Secretary, and Mrs. A. L. Douglas, as Appeal Secretary, and its plans for an appeal for funds are well matured.

previous page next page